top of page

Top 10 tips for Great Customer Service


We've all experienced it: the long waits, the unanswered questions, the return policies with secret clauses. And we all hate it: bad customer service. As a small business owner, it is in your control to provide great customer service. Small things that put a smile on your customer's faces and bigger things that show that you're serious about the business. I've gathered up the top ten ways you can provide service that keeps your customers coming back for more (and providing referrals).



1. Be a Person. I mean how many times have you needed assistance and the person representing the company refuses to leave the script. I mean it's as bad as speaking to a robot/computer. Don't be that way. Treat your customers like you want to be treated when you're in their shoes. Also, train your reps to be people too.


2. Do not be or become passive aggressive. Here in Chicago, we used to have a store, Marshall Field's. Mr. Field's was a great innovator of customer service, "give the lady what she wants." It doesn't matter how nonsensical their request or complaint is, satisfy them. Answer their 'rea'l' question. Even if you don't have the product or service to meet their needs, you will have respected them and treated them like a person.


3. Speak in the positive. If you've ever read any parenting or teaching books in the 21st century they all talk about one thing: being positive. Not telling the kids what they can't do but giving them options on what they can do. In some instances this isn't the best approach, like if something dangerous is involved. However, in most non-emergency situations, speaking in the positive is the best way to provide solutions. When a customer asks for a solution give them the positive options: paper or plastic, Monday at 1p or Thursday at 3p, you can pay 50% now and 50% later or pay in full.


4. Reward Loyal Customers. Do you have a customer/client, who has simply fallen in love with your brand? Reward them for it! Give special gifts, treats and discounts. They are your biggest cheerleader, They should have perks.


5. Take Responsibility. Usually when this phrase is used it indicates that something has been done wrong and you are required to 'own up' the results. I'd like to take this one step further. While we can't possibly foresee every single thing that could go wrong, there are basics. If you don't tie your shoes, you're probably going to trip.





6. Be honest about your abilities. I know there's the famous saying, 'fake it til you make it.' However, when it comes to serving your customers, make sure you can deliver. In fact, under promise and over deliver. I'm not a graphic designer. There are things I currently don't have the skill set to produce professional results. So, I don't offer those things. I do know a few great graphic designers and I can refer you to them. See, easy. No one knows everything and no one expects you to know everything.


7. Repeat back to them what they've said. The first time I heard this was during a customer service call I was on. Once I stated my compliant, the rep, pleasantly and politely, confirmed what I'd stated. That was very well thought out. From then on, I've implemented this in every situation I can, even with my children. Being heard, is a very important part of commuication, listening is the most important.


8. The next three tips are inter-related. Make getting in contact with you easy. I hate, trying to get in contact with a company and I can't find their contact info...anywhere. I don't want to click through 3 or 4 tabs just to complete a form for some one at some point in the future to get back to me. I understand that internal clicks and rerouting ups your SEO with Google and other search engines..but come on. Create a funnel for that on something you're offering...not the contact information.


9. Follow-up. Whether they've already purchased something, visited, or you handled a complaint, make sure you follow-up. It can be a short voicemail, text, or email to let them know they are valuable and you're never too busy for them.


10. You made it to the end. Write thank you notes. #seriously receiving a nice card in the mail is not only nice and brings up warm and fuzzy feelings, it also lends itself to branding. Also promote your brand.


I could write 15, 30 or even 100 tips to engage with your customers, (I'll leave that for a course or a series), however, you can't go wrong with these 10. Figure out how to integrate them into your Customer managment plan/strategy or contact me for assistance....812-777-KOVA(5682) or kovassistant@gmail.com

Recent Posts

See All

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page